Facebook Link Twitter Link
 
Frome College website
 


As part of a series of events marking Frome College’s centenary, Principal, Emma Reynolds; Vice Principal, Kirsten Windsor; Student Union President, Abi Baker and Vice President, Elsie Lee visited Frome Museum’s fascinating exhibit of memorabilia from the first 100 years of the school’s history. 
 
On opening in 1921, the college was called Frome County Secondary School. It evolved into a grammar school before becoming Frome Community College, and is now known as Frome College.  
 
Two of the eye-catching exhibits on display were examples of very different school uniforms worn fifty years apart. A brown uniform from the school’s grammar school era, complete with a cap described as “dapper”, stands in contrast with the smart, modern uniform of today’s students. As well as showcasing group photographs, the museum’s exhibition included year books, newsletters, and a book documenting a school trip to the Sahara Desert in the 1960s. Ms Reynolds called the exhibition “absorbing” and commented that it has “proved to be very popular”. 
 
Many thanks go to Vice Chairman Barry Edwards for co-ordinating the exhibition, and to Treasurer Brian Marshall and Volunteer Stewards Gabrielle Mander and Anne Hoyal for showing the group around. The exhibition will close 30 October. 
 
We are excited to enter the second century of the College’s life. 


 
 
 

News Archive

Powered by mod LCA

Schools Health and Resilience Education Prince's Teaching Institute Mark for English We are a Somerset Inclusive Dyslexia Friendly School Geographical Association Secondary Geography Quality Mark

Frome College  -  Bath Road  -  Frome  -  Somerset  -  BA11 2HQ     |     01373 465353     |     office@fromecollege.org Search the Frome College Website Copyright © 2018 Frome College